I think of discipline as the continual everyday process of helping a child learn self-discipline.

- Mr. Rodgers (Fred Rodgers)

This statement is useful in my adult life.
I am not disciplined; therefore I need to work on it every day.

I find it beneficial to acknowledge the things I have learned over time. Even the most complicated tasks can become second nature to someone who works hard at them. Whenever I have lost sight of the hard work it takes to learn a new habit, I find my self-discipline being challenged the most.

A New Year / 13 Subjects

A few weeks ago I read the autobiography of Benjamin Franklin. At the end of his book, he shares something I find wonderful. He calls it his 13 virtues, and he attributes the study of these virtues as the biggest key to his success he had in life.

In short, he found that by studying each habit one week at a time the benefits were higher than if one attempted studying multiple subjects at one time. In this system, you go through this 13 weeks cycle 4 times in the 52-week calendar year.

For 2019 I'm going to implement this in my life. I have taken many of Mr. Franklin's virtues for myself while also switching out some for things that I need a better handle on.

How about making a list of your own using Franklin's virtues as a launching off point. It costs you nothing and could be a massive benefit.

Benjamin Franklins 13 Virtues

1. Temperance. Eat not to dullness; drink not to elevation.

2. Silence. Speak not but what may benefit others or yourself; avoid trifling conversation.

3. Order. Let all your things have their places; let each part of your business have its time.

4. Resolution. Resolve to perform what you ought; perform without fail what you resolve.

5. Frugality. Make no expense but to do good to others or yourself; i.e., waste nothing.

6. Industry. Lose no time; be always employ'd in something useful; cut off all unnecessary actions.

7. Sincerity. Use no hurtful deceit; think innocently and justly, and, if you speak, speak accordingly.

8. Justice. Wrong none by doing injuries, or omitting the benefits that are your duty.

9. Moderation. Avoid extremes; forbear resenting injuries so much as you think they deserve.

10. Cleanliness. Tolerate no uncleanliness in body, cloaths, or habitation.

11. Tranquillity. Be not disturbed at trifles, or at accidents common or unavoidable.

12. Chastity. Rarely use venery but for health or offspring, never to dullness, weakness, or the injury of your own or another's peace or reputation.

13. Humility. Imitate Jesus and Socrates.

I hope you enjoy this process, I'll be sure to check back on my progress. Have a great New Year

Understanding and Appreciating Beauty

I've been drawn to the beauty of jazz for more than half my life. Still, I feel like an outsider to this beautiful art form. Something I have come to comprehend is that to truly understand art means you must look at all of the dimensions in which it was created. In regards to jazz music or more appropriately defined as Black American Music. I have found that you can't just listen to the music if you wish to really see the beauty within it. The American experience must be examined from as many perspectives as possible to get an honest picture. Today, as I listen to a collection of compositions written by Miles Davis from the box set, Miles Davis - Chronicle: The Complete Prestige Recordings (1951-1956) I am left pondering would any other artform have allowed a young black man in the 1950s to attract and hold the attention of so many people from all over the world.

BYNK Records releases new ablum from Reggie Watkins

Trombonist Reggie Watkins has released his newest album and brought Matt Parker on board to produce the album with him. The CD, Avid Admirer: The Jimmy Knepper Project, will be released on Matt Parker's BYNK Records on July 13.

This album features
Reggie Watkins - trombone
Matt Parker - soprano and tenor saxophone
Orrin Evan - piano
Tuomo Uusitalo - piano
Steve Whipple - bass
Reggie Quinerly - drums